Introduction to the Interns!

Say hello to this years interns! We are so excited to welcome them to the team. Each intern came aboard for different reasons, but they all are passionate about ENC Stop Human Trafficking  and are excited to make a difference in our community. Here’s what you should know about each intern!

Our State Wide Intern, Lizz! unnamed

Name: Lizz

Year: Junior

Hometown: Raeford, NC

Major: Sociology with a minor in Anthropology

Hobbies: I love to read and am incredibly outdoorsy. I’m incredibly crafty and enjoying learning about other people and the cultures they come from. During my time off from school, I enjoy fostering dogs and rehabilitating them into happier, healthier versions of themselves. I guess you could say I have bleeding heart for those who need help.

Why I joined the team: I have always wanted to help those who are unable to help themselves, and over the last few years I’ve come to realize that I would love to pursue a career in humanitarian aid. Interning for ENC Stop Human Trafficking Now has given me the opportunity to start in that direction.

Our Public Relations Intern, Wesley! 14224964_10210585779704678_8763377095358858092_n

Name: Wesley

Year: Senior

Hometown: Greenville, NC

Major: Communications with a concentration in Public Relations

Hobbies: Between school and working, in the little free time that I have my hobbies include trying to cook and going to music festivals.

Why I joined the team: I hope to raise awareness, educate and inspire more people to take action against the crime of Human Trafficking and understand it isn’t just a distant issue. When looking and applying for internships, I didn’t want to settle for just any internship. I wanted the chance to accomplish something greater and give back to my community. I’m excited to take on this internship this Fall with this passionate organization and work together to make a change and make our community a safer place for generations to come.

Our Public Relations Intern, Tiffany! 10463949_457634197723384_3774521517358482323_n

Name: Tiffany

Year: Senior

Hometown: Youngsville, NC

Major: English and History

Hobbies: I’m a Netflix aficionada, and an avid movie watcher, and listener/lover of music. I love to have fun and make people laugh. I am a person who chooses to live my life to the fullness and I have the mindset that I will achieve anything and everything I want in life. I am very grateful to have the opportunity to have that choice to live my life in any way I choose, whether that means having a career or being a house wife or being a Starbucks barista or not working at all. I am lucky, we all are, to be able to make decisions for ourselves and I will always be appreciative of that.

 Why I joined the team: When I thought about human trafficking, I thought of it as an issue that was not close to home. I would think of it only in a one dimensional way. To me, human trafficking was synonymous with sex trafficking. From popular culture that is what I was accustomed to seeing in movies on Lifetime or from the movie series Taken. However, in the time I’ve been working with ENC Stop Human Trafficking Now, I see that human trafficking is a worldwide issue. It encompasses so much more and is closer to home than I could ever even imagine. I have been introduced to articles of human trafficking issues near my university and my home and I didn’t even know it was happening. Now, I understand human trafficking to be a violation of human rights where a person is exploited for things such as labor or sex with force and they are abused and not paid or treated fairly. Human trafficking can affect anyone from immigrants looking for work to young runaways or the homeless. This is something that affects all societies, and all people, it is not divided by race, age or sex. Now, that I know about this injustice, I cannot look the other way. And in closing, no other words ring quite as true as these, “Enslave the liberty of but one human being and the liberties of the world are put in peril” – William Lloyd Garrison

Our Campus Intern, Jenny!10686862_10203029058708733_8941398810237843399_n

Name: Jenny

Year: Sophomore

Hometown: Charlottesville, VA

Major: Communications with a concentration in Public Relations

Hobbies: Taking long naps, writing, playing with any dog around me, and eating way more than I should

Why I joined the team: I first learned about human trafficking in high school, and I was always really interested in the topic. I think I was really fascinated by it because I didn’t understand it. I don’t understand how people could do such horrible things to another human being. I am so glad to be interning at ENC Stop Human Trafficking because not only is it helping me prepare to be an adult in the real world, but it also helps me rest a tiny bit easier at night knowing the work I am doing here could be making a difference in someone else’s life.

We’re looking forward to accomplishing great things with the organization this semester!

Writing for Freedom,

Jenny

Leave a Reply

